Accidents Happen

A few weeks ago, Ryan was in a car accident.  Our beloved, golden Echo was a great little car, but it was no match to a truck.  No one was hurt, but the car was totaled.

Ryan has had his driving license for almost three years with no ticket or accident.  Some people expressed concerned about a young, autistic adult driving.  According to Safety Insurance Company’s website, “Nationwide, 43% of first-year drivers and 37% of second-year drivers are involved in car crashes.”  Ryan beat those statistics.  Even after the accident, I’m glad we encouraged Ryan to learn how to drive.

Of course, Ryan was shaken and now has a new respect regarding his vulnerability and driving. It’s scary out on the road, from his perspective and mine.  He has learned many life-lessons.  Sometimes, experience is the best teacher.

Published by

sasyjohnson

I am: a) happily married for over 27 years; b) mom to five boys, three diagnosed with autism; c) a home schooling mom; and d) self-employed as a piano teacher. There is no trace of autism on my side or my husband's side of the family tree. Until nine years ago, my youngest four all had disabilities, the youngest three with autism. Five years ago my youngest did not "qualify" for the autism label, rendering him "recovered". My second oldest also "tested" out of his speech delay. My husband and I attribute these successes to the care of many family members and therapists, change in diets, not following mainstream medicine yet listening to medical advice, doing our own research, and most importantly, lots of prayer.

2 thoughts on “Accidents Happen”

  1. So glad he's okay. Yes, my oldest was in 2 wrecks, neither his fault, at 19 and 20. Back was broken in the second one. He is a very, very safe driver. (Has autism.) God bless your family.

    Like

  2. Two accidents, and one resulting in a broken back? Wow. I hope his recovery is complete. Is he back driving yet? Ryan did not want to drive, but we told him to “get back on the horse” to overcome his fear. He is now driving to his new job. I hope yours is back driving too.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.