Guardians of…

Today, Mike and I became legal guardians.  We are now defenders of the universe.  Sounds cool.  I just wish the role belonged in a movie.

Doctors and psychologists told us to pursue guardianship years ago, well before our boys turned 18.  However, from what I read, our boys would lose much of their independence, and that would cost them too much mentally and emotionally.

Laws have changed since I first researched guardianship.  The best news we found was that we could file for full guardianship, and our son could retain his drivers license and his right to vote.  An attorney informed us that we could protect our son without infringing on his those two concerns.

Yes, we hired an attorney, and it was money well spent.  We did not have to worry about filing the correct papers and making sure we had all the details complete.  The financial cost was nothing compared to my time and emotional well being.  There were many steps to follow, and missing any one of them would delay our court date.

So four months later, we have concluded a legal process to help our young autistic adult to continue his life towards independence.

Published by

sasyjohnson

I am: a) happily married for over 27 years; b) mom to five boys, three diagnosed with autism; c) a home schooling mom; and d) self-employed as a piano teacher. There is no trace of autism on my side or my husband's side of the family tree. Until nine years ago, my youngest four all had disabilities, the youngest three with autism. Five years ago my youngest did not "qualify" for the autism label, rendering him "recovered". My second oldest also "tested" out of his speech delay. My husband and I attribute these successes to the care of many family members and therapists, change in diets, not following mainstream medicine yet listening to medical advice, doing our own research, and most importantly, lots of prayer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.